The building is both elegant and austere, ornate and unpretentious, thus reflecting its dual origins, as the centre of a busy farm and the main residence of a wealthy family. Palazzo Fantini has been inhabited by members of a single family for almost three centuries.
The Fantini family records show that the foundations and cornerstone of the façade received a blessing on 3 May 1753, when building work began. The façade was built in the Tuscan Baroque style, and includes a balcony as well as the symbol of the family coat of arms, a cockerel. Several older buildings were joined to the façade, using the same architectural style, in order to give the entire building a more noble appearance.
Lorenzo Maria Fantini (1721 – 1782) was responsible for the construction of the façade and the restoration of Palazzo Fantini, together with builders from Milan. He had a law degree from the University of Bologna and initiated the building work together with his brothers, Pier Maria, also a lawyer, and Francesco Maria, who was a priest. Pope Clement XIII gave them permission to build private chapels dedicated to the Immaculate Conception, both in the Parish Church and in Palazzo Fantini itself.
In addition to the older and 18th century parts of the building, which contain rooms where important guests were once received, there are also charming later additions in Neo-Gothic or Liberty style, such as the winter garden.
Palazzo Fantini is surrounded by numerous farm buildings, although they are no longer used for agricultural activity. These buildings have been faithfully restored, and are used to house farm machines and equipment, as well as for cultural, musical and other types of events.